User Accounts: Difference between revisions

From Geometry Dash Expanded Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
geometrydash.wiki.gg>LordOtherGuest
m Undo revision 111801 by 206.78.150.252 (talk)
Line 16: Line 16:
*One can change their account password by clicking on the "Manage Account" link in the game.
*One can change their account password by clicking on the "Manage Account" link in the game.
**One can change their username as well, but only once.
**One can change their username as well, but only once.
***In 1.9 if you changed your Geometry Dash username it would glitch out your account, but Update 2.0 fixed this.
[[Category:Features]]
[[Category:Features]]

Revision as of 02:09, 24 October 2015

User Accounts are a feature that allows Geometry Dash progress data to be backed up onto an external cloud-based server. The process links the game profile to a personal account under a unique username, providing a more efficient means of accessing saved data on other devices while also reducing the possibility of losing it. That username is then marked as gold when viewed by other users, and subsequently cannot be re-used. This makes other users able to tap another user's name and see their published levels.

Creating an account

The account configuration section can be found through the "Options" menu (opened by the gear icon on the main menu). In order to create an account, a username and password must be chosen. As part of authorizing it, an email address is also required. By submitting the aforementioned information, a confirmat buttons because if you accidentally press the "Load" button, it will load the most recent progress saved. The good advantage is RobTop has built in a confirmation button after pressing "Save" or "Load". When pressing yes, your data will be overridden.

Profile

File:UserProfile.png
A player's profile page

As of Update 2.0, along with creating an account, you are given a profile page, this consists of your global ranking and stats at the top (stars, secret coins, user coins and demons), your current icons situated underneath, a text area which allows you to post updates filling the rest of the area, and an option to link the users to your YouTube channel. All players are able to access your profile via leaderboards or levels you have created, unless they have blocked you.

Trivia

  • There was a bug in Update 1.9 where syncing 1 account with 2 devices could get you free 30 coins anytime you synced.
  • If you loaded your Geometry Dash data into Geometry Dash Lite, you would acquire the data you had in the full version into the lite version. Although, the icons you gather were those introduced in Update 1.6 and before.
  • There was a bug in Update 2.0 where if the user repeatedly saved their data to the cloud, unlinked their account, logged back in, and loaded the save data, it would give them the amount of user coins they first had each time.
    • This was fixed in Update 2.0.1.
  • There's used to be a bug in Update 2.0 where on the friends list of the User Account, the secondary colors on every cube is white instead of captain colors. This is fixed in Update 2.0.1.
  • One can change their account password by clicking on the "Manage Account" link in the game.
    • One can change their username as well, but only once.
      • In 1.9 if you changed your Geometry Dash username it would glitch out your account, but Update 2.0 fixed this.